Virginia Tech®home

Institute Directors

Virginia Tech’s institute directors are key partners for the Office for Research and Innovation and work closely and collaboratively with staff, students, faculty, and administration from across Virginia Tech’s campuses, to foster academic and research excellence.

Zachary Doerzaph portrait.

Zachary Doerzaph

Virginia Tech Transportation Institute

Stefan Duma portrait.

Stefan Duma

Institute for Critical Technology and Applied Science

Mike Friedlander portrait.

Mike Friedlander

Executive Director,
Fralin Biomedical Research Institute

Matt Hulver portrait.

Matt Hulver

Executive Director,
Fralin Life Sciences Institute

R. Benjamin Knapp portrait.

R. Benjamin Knapp

Institute for Creativity, Arts, and Technology

Photo not available.

Robert Moore

Macromolecules Innovation Institute

Eric Paterson portrait.

Eric Paterson

Virginia Tech National Security Institute

Karen Roberto portrait.

Karen A. Roberto

Institute for Society, Culture and Environment