Rui Qiao

Photo of Scholar of the Week Rui QiaoThe Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation recognizes Rui Qiao, an associate professor of mechanical engineering in the College of Engineering, for his work at the frontiers of technology.

Qiao is the director of the Laboratory of Transport Phenomena for Advanced Technologies, overseeing research driven by challenges emerging at the frontiers of advanced technologies, such as electrical energy storage, thermal management, biomanufacturing, and lab-on-chip.

With colleagues, he explores fundamental physics of transport phenomena with an emphasis on problems in which molecular/mesocopic physics play a key role. In addition, lab members focus on atomistic, mesoscopic, and multiscale modeling. They also work closely with experimentalists and theoreticians.

His personal research interests include fluid dynamics and heat transfer, especially micro/nanoscale fluid, ionic, and thermal transport, with a focus on transport and interfacial phenomena in applications such as electrical energy storage, thermal management, micro- and nanofluidics, and advanced manufacturing.

He is a member of the American Physics Society, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and the American Chemical Society.

Qiao received his doctorate in mechanical engineering from the University of Illinois and his master’s degree in thermal engineering from Tsinghua University.



Nominate a Scholar of the Week

The goals of the Scholar of the Week are to recognize individuals while also telling people about research and scholarly activities at the university.

Recognition is based on research and/or scholarship.

Please nominate individuals — not teams, groups, or more than one person.

Please provide a sentence describing the research, scholarship, or creative work in non-technical, generally accessible language. A second sentence with an example or application is helpful.

  • Send nominations to: Srinath Ekkad, Associate Vice President for Research Programs, Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation.