

Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation

OCTOBER 2019

G. Don Taylor

Interim Vice President for Research and Innovation

Scott Midkiff | Vice President, Information Technology

(Secondary reporting line)

Terry Herdman | Associate Vice President for Research Computing

Laurel Miner | Chief of Staff

Kim Borkowski | Administrative Specialist

BUSINESS UNITS

Lisa M. Lee | Associate Vice President for Scholarly Integrity and Research Compliance

Trudy Riley | Associate Vice President for Sponsored Programs

Brandy Salmon | Associate Vice President for Innovation and Partnerships

David Schabdach |

Associate Vice President for Laboratory Animal Resources and Attending Veterinarian

OPERATIONS

Sandra Burks | Director of Human Resources

Odie Fthenos | Director of Finance

Radka Schenk Kretinska |

Director of Electronic Research Administration

Neil Sedlak | Director of Information Technology

John Talerico | Director of Export and Secure Research Compliance and Facility Security Officer

[Vacant] | Director of Communications

RESEARCH INSTITUTES

Tom Dingus | Director, Virginia Tech Transportation Institute

Stefan Duma | Director, Institute for Critical Technology and Applied Science¹

Mike Friedlander

Executive Director, Fralin
Biomedical Research Institute

Ben Knapp | Director, Institute for Creativity, Arts, and Technology²

Sally Morton | Interim Director, Fralin Life Sciences Institute

Eric Paterson | Interim Executive Director, Hume Center for National Security and Technology

Karen Roberto | Director, Institute for Society, Culture and Environment

- 1 The director of the Institute for Critical Technology and Applied Science reports to the Dean of Engineering
- 2 The director of the Institute for Creativity, Arts, and Technology reports to the Provost

AFFILIATED UNITS

Don Maffei | Acting President, **Virginia Tech Applied Research Corporation**

Brandy Salmon | Acting President, Virginia Tech Intellectual Properties